First Training Day . . . Very Similar To All Other Days

9 Oct

Last night I was so excited to begin training today. I decided I would start off with a “long run” of four miles just to see if I could do it. I got on mapmyrun and found a route very close to my house that was just shy of four miles. I downloaded The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling and made a deal with myself that if I needed to stop and walk I would half to pause the audio book. I figured that would keep me motivated to keep going.

I woke up this morning excited to tackle my first day of training. I pulled on my tennis shoes, leashed up my running buddy, Henry, and headed out the door. I ran the whole route. It wasn’t easy, but it wasn’t nearly as hard as I thought it would be. I stopped just short of the route I had planned, and I thought “Okay! I can do this!” I was darn proud of myself. I got home and logged in to google maps to check my milage.

According to google maps, I only went 2.6 miles.

And my pride went out the window. I checked and rechecked the milage. Still only 2.6 miles. Granted, that is still a fairly good distance for me, but I thought I had at least another mile if not mile and a half under my belt. So, my first long run attempt was a failure.

I am disappointed, but here are my take aways:

1. There is always tomorrow to try again.

2. I should take my phone with me to be sure of the milage.

3. 2.6 miles is better than 0 miles.

4. At least the recovery shake was delicious. I mixed half of an apple with one banana, a handful of green grapes, and some coconut water. It looked really gross but tasted so yummy!

Leave a Reply

