Inspiration!

6 Nov

Yesterday was going to be my first day of official half marathon training according to the plan I received from my group meeting. (Actually according to the plan yesterday was “stretch and strengthen” and today was the first run, but I have bible study that lasts all evening on Tuesdays, so I had to switch Monday and Tuesday.) The goal? 30 minutes. Guess who didn’t meet that goal? BUT I am still proud of myself because when I got home from work it was dark, cold, and rainy. Not ideal conditions for a first training day. The dark and cold I will have to learn to deal with, as daylight savings time and fall are here to stay. The rain really had me second guessing. I got home, put on my running clothes and headed out the door, only to turn right back around and go inside. I decided that it would not hurt me to skip given the rain.

I piddled around on the computer and stumbled across this race recap. After reading, I was fired up and ready to go. So I headed out the door again, only to decide that no, I could not bring myself to run in this rain. Then I decided if I had a hat, I could do it. I drove to the local swag store (I live in a college town) and got myself a hat.

I came home and headed out for a third time, and this time I kept going. My usual route takes me through a slightly sketchy part of town for the last mile. I decided with the darkness and rain, I would stop at mile 2 and call it a day. So I didn’t run the full 30 minutes like I was supposed to, but I am darn proud of getting out there in less than ideal conditions. I came home sopping wet, but happy. (Does any body else feel like a hard core rock star when they run in the rain?)

My second bit of inspiration came from a dance competition I went to this weekend. My bestie choreographed some dances (that all won first and second place, btw!) that competed. I went to show support. It was an all-day event and let me tell you, nothing fires you up to get in shape like hanging out with hard core dancers all day. Those girls are so toned and flexible! So I’ve decided that I want to really work on my flexibility for the next few months. We’ll see if I can keep it up!

Leave a Reply

