A Silent Run and A Night Run

16 Nov

Yesterday I needed to get in a “quickie” after work but before I had to be somewhere at 6:30. By quick I don’t mean that I ran any faster. It just didn’t take me as long to get changed and out the door. I decided to go without any distractions so that I can get used to running without music or an audio book. It really wasn’t that bad. For some reason, while I’m running it seems difficult, but once I’m back I think, “Oh. That wasn’t bad at all!” Instead I used the time to really appreciate my ability to run and all of the blessings in my life.

Today I decided that I don’t need ALL of my runs to be distractions free and took my phone with me. I decided to go crazy and run my loop backwards from the way I usually run it. I guess it’s extra cloudy today because it was soooo dark during my run! At one point another runner passed me and startled the heck out of me. I jumped and yelled, “Ah! Oh My!” And then I was like, “Oh! Sorry!” And tried to laugh it off. The other runner didn’t even acknowledge that I had just yelled in his ear and kept right on going. Which is less embarrassing I guess.

That’s it run-wise. But I had a pretty air-heady day today at work. And then I was so stressed about it that I emotionally-ate about a quarter of a bag of chips and a whole bag of Starburst GummiBursts. I was trying to squash the nervous feeling in my stomach by stuffing it with food. Not an awesome plan. Luckily I didn’t let it throw me off track for the rest of the day. I’ve been trying to eat better. Normally a “bad day” eating-wise would throw me off for the rest of the day. Or (who are we kidding?) the rest of the week. I’ve been trying to just “eat clean,” though with an occasional portion-sized splurge and I was able to just put it behind me and have it not affect my overall eating today. So. Yay!

Leave a Reply

