On Only Sweating the Small Stuff

17 Nov

Yesterday I got off work early and got to run in the daylight! It was wonderful. I was able to wear a tank top and the whole run just felt lovely. I felt like I could have kept going more than my three-mile loop, but going further would have involved crossing some streets at peak-traffic time so I just called it a day. Especially since I have another long run Sunday.

Last week I posted on all of the things I don’t know about running a race. I’ve been reading lots of running blogs to motivate myself, and that’s wonderful, but it also causes a little anxiety. I am a very beginning runner, but I find myself worrying about things like speed, and gear, and training runs. All with my first half marathon months away. I think it’s normal to research the heck out of a new hobby, but I need to remember that all I should be focusing on right now is getting to that distance and getting across the finish line. After that, there is plenty of time for improving and training more. 🙂

I am off to go cheer on my beloved football team, but before I go, I will share a recipe I made up last night that was pretty good, if I say so myself:

Spinach-stuffed Tilapia

1 tilapia filet (mine was 4.5 ounces)

1/4 c spinach

1 clove garlic (I might use 2 next time)

2 tbsp cream cheese (mine was 1/3 less fat)

1/2 tsp smoked paprika

a couple of shakes of parsley (I didn’t measure this — sorry!)

1/2 lemon

olive oil

Directions: Mince garlic and heat in non-stick skillet until fragrant. My spinach was frozen, so I added in the spinach at the same time to thaw. Add in cream cheese and mix in with garlic and spinach. Once cream-cheese mixture is heated through, spoon onto half of the tilapia filet, and fold the fish over on top, so that the cream cheese mixture is between two layers of fish. Place on greased baking sheet. Squeeze lemon over fish and sprinkle smoked paprika on top. Bake at 250 for 20 minutes.

This was very yummy and very filling. I roasted some veggies to go along with it, but I was unable to eat them because I was so full. (They took an extra 20 minutes to cook because I am very bad at getting all of my food to be ready at the same time.)

Leave a Reply

