Happy Thanksgiving!

23 Nov

Hello and Happy (belated) Thanksgiving! I hope you all had a fun time stuffing your bellies. Even I ate a little too much, and I, for the most part, hate Thanksgiving food. I have always disliked Thanksgiving because, while the thought behind it is lovely (it’s always nice to be reminded to give thanks for all that we have been given), a) I don’t really care for the food; and b) it’s usually just me and my parents sharing a meal together. I’m an only child and live in the same town as my parents, so sharing a meal with them is something that happens around once a week anyway — usually with better food. I know it sounds weird since I generally love food, and therefore a holiday centered around food should be right up my alley. BUT I have never really cared for turkey. When I was growing up my dad ate a turkey sandwich for dinner every. single. day. I don’t love poultry, so turkey just underwhelms me. I’ve never loved stuffing (in the south we call it dressing), sweet potato casserole, green bean casserole, or pecan pie. So, past years have involved me eating very little on Thanksgiving.

This year was different because my family got together with a couple of other small families and everybody brought a few dishes. Someone brought regular mashed potatoes (yum), macaroni and cheese (double yum), so I had some tasty foods. And it was a lot of fun spending time with a big group.

I brought an appetizer, and although it isn’t exactly Thanksgiving-themed, it is a super easy (for the most part low-calorie) treat that has been a hit everywhere I’ve taken it. So I am sharing it with you now. As far as I know it doesn’t have a name. I had them at a party and then googled the ingredients to come up with a base-recipe that I tweaked according to what I remembered eating.

You will need:

3 packages frozen mini-fillo cups

1 package bacon bits (I used turkey bacon to try to shave some calories, but I could taste the difference. Real bacon bits are better.)

1 cup 2% swiss cheese, shredded

1 cup fat-free mayonnaise*

1 can rotel

Drain the rotel a bit and mix together with the cheese, bacon bits, and mayonnaise. Scoop the mixture into the mini-fillo cups. Bake fillo cups at 350 for around 15 minutes. Voila. Easy peasy delicious app.

*Just as a side-note, if you live in the south, you know that using anything besides real mayonnaise is extremely frowned upon. That is not really a concern with this recipe because the mayonnaise is more of a binding agent than anything. The other flavors mask that distinctive sweet-taste that is so unpalatable to real-mayonnaise proponents. 

What is your favorite Thanksgiving food? 

Leave a Reply

