NYE Run

2 Jan

I went out of town to visit friends on New Year’s Eve, and went on a short run (2 miles) with one of my guy friends before heading out to another friend’s house for food, drinks, and board games. We played Apples to Apples and a game I found at Target called Quelf.

I thought Quelf was awesome and hilarious. It was like a mix between Cranium and the drinking game Circle of Death. Some of our friends were not fans because the game makes you do things like sing songs, smell shoes, and compose sonnets. I loved every minute of it.

Before we played, I bought several prizes to give to game winners. I  way overestimated the number of games we would get in between 7 p.m. and midnight. (My guess – 12; actual number of games – 3.) Now I need more activities that involve giving out prizes in order to use up all of the great goodies I got at the party store. (Note to future self: I should not be allowed to go to party stores. I will buy the most random crap just because I think it’s funny.)

On New Year’s Day we ate all of the crazy things you are supposed to for good luck — ham, collard greens, black-eyed peas, and cornbread. I wanted to go for a run, but I forgot to pack my tennis shoes.

Today I am boycotting running to punish the outside for being so darn cold! Most people amp up their exercise routine right after New Year’s. I am in hibernation mode. I am hoping that taking this one day off will give me the swift kick to the pants that I need to get back into the swing of things!

Remember my NYE nails? They didn’t last very long.

IMG_0409

Have you heard of party nails? Where you paint something different or funky on your fourth finger? This is the opposite. I call it the Grinch Nail. I think it’s going to be preeetty trendy! When you see Lauren Conrad sporting this look in a few months, just remember that you saw it here first!

 

Leave a Reply

