New Eating Plan

6 Jan

So most people started eating healthy right after January 1. Not me! I needed an extra week of junk food before I was ready to start getting back on track.

I’ve been toying around with the idea of Paleo. Unfortunately, I do not like keeping meat in the house, and the Paleo diet is mostly vegetables and meat. I do keep fish around, though, so I am going to use the Paleo guidelines as sort of a rough outline to try to eat by. (Browsing around the web has given me the impression that Paleo followers can be a little militant — you either are Paleo or you aren’t Paleo. There is no try.) Basically I am just going to eat a ton more vegetables. With that in mind, here is my grocery list from today. (I love seeing bloggers’ grocery lists, don’t you?)

IMG_0427

 

IMG_0425

IMG_0426

 

Most of the articles I read about starting a Paleo challenge tell you to throw everything “non Paleo” out of your pantry/refrigerator. I, instead, decided to eat my way through all of the carbs in my refrigerator/pantry. I knew it wasn’t the most awesome or responsible of decisions when I made it, but that has rarely stopped me before.

Sample of my meals over the past two days: fatty special (my go-to “bad” food of spinach dip on top of pasta), sour patch kids, vegan pasta alfredo, tuna/cheese quesadilla, Morning Star Farms asian veggie patties, and socca pizza. (By the way, when I was explaining to my BFF what socca was, her response was, “You know if you ever get married you’re going to have to start cooking normal stuff, right?”)

With all of that stuff out of the way, I am going to give this whole clean eating thing a whirl and try to be as Paleo as possible. I am giving myself an out after two weeks if I start finding it just way too restrictive to maintain.

Tonight I made butternut squash soup with a coconut milk base. It was pretty awesome, so I will share what I did:

Sauteed one small onion and one clove of garlic

Added in the butternut squash (I just used a package of frozen)

One can of coconut milk

One can of diced tomatoes

1/2 tbsp cumin

1/2 tbsp coriander

Dash of salt, smoked paprika, and curry powder

One bay leaf

I let everything simmer for about 30 minutes, then transferred to the blender and pureed everything together. Don’t make the rookie mistake I did and forget to take out the bay leaf (gets me every time!). Enjoy!

This made a lot of servings. I probably ate three, which was way too many (that coconut milk adds a little bit of a calorie punch), and there was half a pot left.

I’ll keep you updated on how my eating goes/feels over the next couple of weeks. I thought about keeping it a secret from you in case I bail early, but then I decided to just tell you anyway. 🙂

One Response to “New Eating Plan”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Food Confessions – Part II « Learn Love Run - January 10, 2013

    […] remember when I said I was going to try out paleo-ish eating? I did really well with that . . . for two […]

Leave a Reply

